How to delete / disable OkCupid.com account

0

OkCupid claimed 3.5 million active users as of September 2010. According to Compete.com, the website attracted 1.3 million unique visitors in February 2011. Okcupid counts an enormous amount of members!  But do you want to remove your profile anyway? If you no longer want to use your OKCupid profile, here’s a simple list of steps that you must follow in order to deactivate the profile:

  • 1. Login and Click your profile picture.
    2. Click Settings. >> My Account  >> Go here at the bottom of the page.
    3. Click Delete Account. >> Type in your password. >> Click Delete.

    Direct Link to OkCupid Delete Profile Page

1. Go to Okcupid.com

Log in to your OKCupid account by visiting the website and entering your user name and password. Then click on Sign In in order to access the account area.

2. Find your profile picture

For the next step, click on your profile picture icon in the top-right corner of the main screen on OkCupid.

3. Click Settings link

Frop dropdown menu click on ‘Settings’ after clicking on the profile picture.

4. Choose “My Account”

Now on the left side you will see a new menu, find and follow “My Account”

5.Scroll Down

Scroll down to the bottom of the settings page to see “Need a Break? Go Here to disable or delete your account” and select Go Here.

6.Choose Delete or Disable Here

OkCupid will ask you if you would like to disable or delete your account. To remove your profile from the website so that other users can no longer see it but allow OkCupid to keep all of your information so that you need only sign in to re-enable your account, select the yellow Disable account button. To permanently delete all of your information including photos and messages, meaning you will need to create a new account from scratch should you choose to join OkCupid in the future, select the red Delete account button.
Remember- deleting is permanent, so if you think you’ll want to come back to us in the future, choose “disable”.
Disabling your account shows it as deleted to anyone who looks for it, but it leaves you the option to re-open your profile in the future if you wish.
If you delete your account, you can use the same email address for another account in the future, however your username will be permanently deleted and you cannot use it again.

7.Type your password into the “Confirm” box

OkCupid will ask you why you are closing your account. Select an option, provide comments if you wish, enter your password, and then click the blue Delete button.

8. Click Delete and It’s Done!

  • If you decide to make another OKCupid account, you won’t be able to use the same username.

    Publicly visible text/images often aren’t properly deleted even when you succeed in deleting an account. Try editing or deleting them manually before deleting the account itself. If you’re unsure what happens to your tracks: this can be found mostly in the Terms of Service/Privacy Policy; otherwise you can always contact OkCupid and ask personally. By the way, deletion requests don’t necessarily mean your data will actually be deleted (e.g. due to legal obligations).


Share.

Leave A Reply