Now you are into the probably worlds greatest online dating site; its nice to see tons of people online at a time but are you really safe? You put your profile photo shows you to whole world and make your chance top to find a new mate but are you sure? lets talk about the major safety problems about using such a popular dating site.
1. Hiding a profile on OKCupid
If you hide a member, you’ll never be shown each other on the site (Match Search results, DoubleTake, front page suggestions, etc) but if they already know your username and go directly to your profile they will be able to see it. Hiding the profile means it keeps it from coming up in your searches. It will probably remove that profile from the “viewed me” section as well as the activity section.
To hide someone first visit its profile page
At the left of the “Like” ” Message ” buttons top right you will se 3 dots (…)
Click dots and check hide option
– hiding is mutual.
– they will still see you there but not in Search results, etc.
You may hide a profile at ANY TIME, and all it does is remove the profile from your searches, the front page, any future Quiver, and whatever suggestions OKCupid.com may conjure for you. Additionally, you will be taken off theirs as well. However, if a conversation has already been started, it can still be continued. If that’s the case, block them and the complete shut-off will be implemented.
2. Block someone on OkCupid.com
Blocking someone does everything that hide does, plus it prevents their messages from getting through to you. OkCupid do not let people know in any way that you have blocked them. On the website you can block people from the same place as ‘hide’ on their profiles, and you’ll see a “block them” link at the bottom of each received message.
When in a conversation, if a person you’re talking to has become just too much and you wish to just cease all contact, you can “block” the conversation. What will happen is relatively harmless. He or she will never be notified, and can continue to send messages; those messages just won’t be sent to your inbox.
To block someone you have two options
On the website you can block people from the same place as ‘hide’ on their profiles,
and you’ll see a “block them” link at the bottom of each received message.
– Go to OkCupid Privacy Settings page
– Scroll down to Block Users Tab
– Click “Block Someone”
– Type its username
3. Browse profiles invisibly on OkCupid
No one will know if you’ve visited their profile, unless you want them to. But you have to pay 🙂 It is called Incognito and price is between 10-20 usd/ month.
Incognito Mode is a separate service from A-List that allows your profile to remain invisible to all users unless your Like them or send them a message.
If you want to pay and browse invisibly just click to “Purchase A-List” link on top menu